new logo eea

The European Economic Area (EEA) and Norway Grant is a financial contribution of Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein to economically less developed European countries. Through its projects, these programmes invest in various areas thus reducing the social and economic disparities and strengthening the relations between donor and beneficiary countries.

Since 2004, the grants have also been implemented in Latvia as programmes

Financing Opportunities 2009-2014

The following financing is available through the programme:

  • scholarships – for studies of students and staff of higher education institutions in Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein (financed by EEA and Norway Grants);
  • research projects between Latvia and Norway (financed by Norway Grant).
Total financing from EEA and Norway Grants

The total financing of the programme is EUR 1788.5 million.

It is divided as follows:

  • Norway Grants – 800 millions EUR
  • EEA Grants 988.5 millions EUR
Financing for Latvia

In the 2009-2014 period there are EUR 67.48 million foreseen for Latvia. It is by 30% more than in the previous period 2004-2009.

EEA member states 15 EU member states participate in the EEA Grants: Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Romania, Bulgaria, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Cyprus, and Malta.
Norway Grants member states The following 12 EU member states participate in the Norway Grants – Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Romania, Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Malta.
Regulatory documents for implementation EEA and Norway Grants Regulations, EEA and Norway Grants Law, Minister of Cabinet Regulations, guidelines etc. >>>

The previous programme period 2004-2009 SEDA administered scholarship and academic research projects. See here: EEA and Norway Grants » Approved projects.

EEA and Norway Grants 2009-2014

In total, 7 programmes are being implemented during the 2009-2014 period.

They are:

  • National Climate Policy;
  • NGO Fund;
  • Conservation and Revitalisation of Cultural and Natural Heritage;
  • Research and Scholarships (the programme is administered by Ministry of Education and Science and State Education Development Agency);
  • Green Industry Innovation;
  • Capacity-building and Institutional Cooperation between Latvian and Norwegian Public Institutions, Local and Regional Authorities;
  • Reform of the Latvian Correctional Services and Police Detention Centres.

More about the programmes, responsible and administrative institutions:

The Programme is administrated by the Ministry of Education and Science (MESc) in cooperation with State Education Development Agency (SEDA).


The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) was founded in 1960 and its aim was to promote free trade as a means of achieving growth and prosperity amongst its member states, expansion of trade globally and closer economic cooperation among Western European countries. There are currently four EFTA member states: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

The European Economic Area (EEA) was established on 1 January 1994, to strengthen the trade relations among European countries.

On 1 May 2004, when 10 new countries joined the EU, the EEA 18 became the EEA 28. Currently the EEA consists of 25 EU member states and three EEA EFTA member states: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

On 18 December 2009, donor countries (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) reached an agreement with the European Commission (EC) about the implementation of the European Economic Area Grant (EEA Grant) and Norway Grant (NG) for the new planning period from 2009 to 2014.

On 28 July 2010, a contract about the aforementioned support was signed between the EC and the donor countries.

 Seminar presentations

Links to Donor Programme partner (DPP) home pages: